Out of the Air

9 03 2006

Out of Breath
(taken, somewhat, from the Postal Service song “Recycled Air”)

I take a breath, I find that there’s just nothing left,
I watch this scene, I stare out at the empty seas,
And it pulls me in,
And pulls me down,
Between the long shouts I find that there is nothing now,

I take a breath, I save the air but there’s no place to rest,
I smile at the trees, I see that they’ll drown with me,
And we don’t care,
And we’re only there,
Amidst the our patchwork doubts why should we not get out,

I take a breath, I leave this life for the best,
I step in and speed, I watch for the signs – the greens,
And I’m not quite gone,
And I’m not quite wrong,
I’ve got it all but when there’s nothing why would I stall?

The original song “Recycled Air”:

I take a breath and pull the air in ’til there’s nothing left
I’m feeling green like teenage lovers between the sheets

Ba ba ba ba …

Knuckles clenched to white as the landing gear detract for flight
My head’s a balloon inflating with the altitude

Ba ba ba ba…

I watch the patchwork farms’ slow fade into the ocean’s arms,
And from here they can’t see me stare
The stale taste of recycled air

I watch the patchwork farms’ slow fade into the ocean’s arms
Calm down, release your cares
The stale taste of recycled air

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

